Misc

2009, here I come!

Well, obviously the first week of exams was not a particularly good time to begin a blog! Especially when those exams are followed by the busy summer holidays. However, now the exams are long past, the holidays have come to an end and the new school year has begun and my intention is to begin my blog once again and this time in earnest.

So welcome to the new year! I hope that 2009 will prove to be a fruitful year, a year in which we can grow both spiritually and mentally. I hope that I may succeed in both encouraging and amusing any readers that I may have. I also trust that I may succeed in switching on that little light globe above your head and making you think, even if it is only for a short moment!

I expect to have much to blog about this year. I love to see God’s hand at work in my life and in the small things around me and I want to share this joy with you through my writing.

I have signed up to attend the Constantia Park Baptist Church “School of the Bible” which runs during 2009. I will be doing the “Survey of the Bible” course. We will be going through the whole Bible in a series of evening lectures throughout the year. Hopefully I will be able to share with you some of the things that I will be learning from God’s Word.

I have challenged myself to blog more about my music this year. Music is hard to describe with words, however it is part of me and I have gained so much from it that I cannot exclude it from my blog for such a reason!

Of course, I will also be writing about sailing! All being well, I will soon be able to blog about my first regatta experience, after which I will truly be able to call my blog “The Regatta.” Learning to trapeze properly and to fly a hull are also high on my list of priorities, as is helping my sisters to sail better.

As I have grown older, I have been able to take more and more of a leadership role in our Girl Guide Company. I am working for an Assistant Guider’s Warrant this year. This challenge is sure to provide me with much material for blog posts. I will still be carrying on as a Ranger and will hopefully be able to resurrect our crew this year. You can look forward to reading about that.

Naturally, I will also focus on languages in my writing. I especially wish to work hard at improving my German as it is fast slipping away and disappearing!

Apart from these main areas, life carries on. After all, as I mentioned earlier, isn’t it in the small and simple things of everyday life that we can find happiness and contentment ? I wish everything of the best for you in 2009. Happy new year and good reading!

2 thoughts on “2009, here I come!

Leave a Reply

