Medicine / University

Monday is D-day!

I quote from an SMS that I received from the university on Wednesday: “We are not able to answer admission status queries until Monday due to January release of matric results. For queries contact us Monday.”

Today is D-day. Today, I will know whether I have been accepted to study to become a medical doctor.

*  *  *

When I was ten years old, I became convinced that “when I grew up,” I would become a missionary doctor. I was absolutely sure that that was what God wanted me to do. occasionally, we would drive past a township and I would dream of the days to come when I would be a missionary doctor labouring in the field…

An idea that’s been nourished for 11 years gets pretty strongly rooted. Despite this, at about age 17 I began to have doubts about my future calling. I feel that a mother’s job to nurture and train her children should be taken seriously. When/If I get married and have children, I want to have time for my children. Yet, how does that fit in with studying medicine and working as a doctor? Would I ever be able to make time for my children? Ultimately, would I have to choose between saving lives and bringing up my kids?

As a result of being an exchange student, I am very interested in languages. At the university Open Day I felt strongly attracted to the BA Languages course. I also wasn’t sure whether I would cope with studying medicine. Hard work vs. my natural sinful laziness!!! In my head I half discarded the idea of being a doctor.

Until Zimbabwe… I went to Zimbabwe as part of a church outreach. And I saw the shortage of doctors there and their utter need for more doctors. I saw the human need. The suffering. There and then, standing in the hospital at Victoria Falls, I prayed: “Lord, if you want me to be a doctor – then I will be one! You are the Potter, I am the clay. I dedicate my life to You anew – do with it as You have planned.”

So I left it up to God. I applied at the nearest university. If I am selected to study medicine, then I will know that God wants me to be a doctor. If I don’t make the selection, then I will study BA Languages.

“God knows what you need to study.” My friend, Marion, always reassures me with these words. God has a plan for me and He will bring it to fruition in His own time. I must just trust in Him.

“But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31

Edit: Phoned the university two minutes ago. They are currently waiting for cancellations and will notify me if I am accepted.

Leave a Reply

