Guiding / Unseriousnesses

Goodbye, my darlings…

Guess what this is!

Okay, I’ll give you a view from a bit further away…

My school shoes survived my last year of school – only just! I sewed them up half way through the year, though. (Have you ever tried sewing through leather… without a thimble?)

So why am I referring to school shoes as “my darlings?” I mean, school shoes, of all things! They get sweaty and stinky, you have to polish them and these ones are broken as well!

These school shoes also happen to be my uniform shoes for Rangers. I could wear them with both uniform trousers and uniform skirts. They work in winter and in summer, and on all sorts of terrains. They were just perfect – until they broke!

My search for new Ranger shoes began…

*   *   *

Renate: Mom, what shoes should I wear with my Ranger uniform, now that my school shoes have given up the ghost?

Mom: (Thinks a bit…) Get some black pumps!

Renate: (Unenthusiastically) But then I have to wear stockings with them…

Mom: Well, you’re grown up now, you’re not a schoolgirl anymore!

Renate: Humph!

*   *   *

Renate: Nicky, what shoes should I wear with my Ranger uniform, now that my school shoes have given up the ghost?

Nicky: Wear pumps!

Renate: But then I have to wear stockings with them…

Nicky: I disagree. Wear secret socks with pumps.

Renate: But that’s not uniform.

Nicky: So what! It looks nice. Anyway, when you wear stockings, from far away it looks as if your legs are bare anyway!

Renate: It’s still not uniform!

(Spirited debate – ie. argument – ensues)

*   *   *

Renate: Shari, what shoes should I wear with my Ranger uniform, now that my school shoes have given up the ghost?

Shari: Wear pumps!

Renate: But then I have to wear stockings with them…That’s uniform.

Shari: Wear long white socks with lace around the top! Hahaha! That’ll be funny!!!

Renate: Collapses with laughter…

Well, goodbye my darling school shoes… And goodbye my not-so-darling school years! I’ll miss you, dear shoes! (But not the holes in you!)

And Shari – you’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

