University

When it all starts to seem real…

Today, my brain caught up to the rest of the world. Finally, I realised – this is real life now. You’re not going back to school. You’re now a university student. Welcome to the real world, Renate!

It had all seemed so unreal. I wrote matric exams. Finished exams. Went on “matriekvakansie.” Enjoyed the extra looooooooooong holiday. Lounged luxuriously at home still officially “on holiday” whilst my younger sisters slaved at school! Started Orientation week at the university. Stood in long queues together with students in orange, red and white university T-shirts. Yet still it didn’t feel real. My brain couldn’t process the fact that I’d never be going back to school again.

Until today I saw a girl in school uniform. A girl that I knew. Last year she was a normal Grade 11 girl in a standard blue pullover. Today she proudly wore her brand-new, sparkling white matric pullover. Like I used to wear mine.

And suddenly I felt very old.

2 thoughts on “When it all starts to seem real…

  1. Lol. Yeah, I felt just like you straight after matric, but I am getting used to feeling old now… 😉 I really enjoyed high school, and actually it was as if I wanted another year, but alas! Sometimes when I have to move on with life (whether it is the end of a camp/holiday, or a season in my life such as high school) then I try to remind myself of Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

    “For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:
    a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted;
    a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;
    a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;
    a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;
    a time to seek, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;
    a time to tear, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
    a time to love, and a time to hate; a time for war, and a time for peace. ”

    At the end of last year I had decided to leave the Chemistry Department,-at least for a few years- and so I realised once more that there is:

    A time to say “Hi!” and a time to say “Goodbye!” … to the things you have learned to enjoy, and the people you have come to love, and to put your hand in the hand of Him Who made the stars, and to follow where He leads,-with Him there is greater joy and greater love…

    So my dear friend, it is my prayer that you will have a wonderful time at University! God knows when to start pulling out the tentpegs of our earthly dwelling. Haha!

    Heb 11:8-10,13-16
    “By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to a place that he was to receive as an inheritance. And he went out, not knowing where he was going.
    By faith he went to live in the land of promise, as in a foreign land, living in tents with Isaac and Jacob, heirs with him of the same promise.
    For he was looking forward to the city that has foundations, whose designer and builder is God…
    …These all died in faith, not having received the things promised, but having seen them and greeted them from afar, and having acknowledged that they were strangers and exiles on the earth.
    For people who speak thus make it clear that they are seeking a homeland.
    If they had been thinking of that land from which they had gone out, they would have had opportunity to return.
    But as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared for them a city.”

    Don’t you just love Him?

  2. Yup! God really does know what’s best for us! It’s awesome! I have seen so much of that this year, with starting university and medicine.

    Thanks for commenting. You always have something really worthwhile to say! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

