Guiding / NaNoWriMo

Renate has no words left to think of a fancy title

I wanted to start my NaNoWriMo writing at midnight when November 1 first began, but that didn’t happen.

I tend to struggle to fall asleep. For most of last week, I had not fallen asleep before midnight or 1am. Ironically, last night (when I wanted to be writing!) was the first night that I could actually fall asleep. In fact, I was exhausted. I went to bed at 9pm. Which is a major feat for me.

Of course, sleeping late in the morning, well, I don’t have a problem with that! *insert sheepish grin here*

The reason for this uncharacteristic behaviour?

Brownie camp!

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I spent the weekend with a bunch of 9, 10 and 11-year old girls. If anything is exhausting, that is!

I did enjoy it, though. The Brownies were very well-behaved and friendly, albeit a little hyperactive at times. Notably after the chocolate pudding…

We calmed them down with a lively campfire sing-song. With lots of action songs.

I had had flu before the campfire. Said campfire robbed me of the little bit of voice that the flu had left to me. It was still an awesome campfire! It burned when we wanted it to burn, it didn’t stop burning when we did not want it to stop burning, it didn’t burn anything it was not supposed to burn and nobody saw the newspaper that we had artfully hidden behind some dry grass. Newspaper is good for starting fires, in case you were wondering. I can vouch for it!

Anyway, as you can imagine, when I arrived home I crashed on my bed. Okay, not quite.

First we had a storm in which the tree next door fell on the telephone wires, miraculously not breaking them.

Then we had tea and biscuits. And tinned peaches. (Camp left overs.) We ate them from the common dish. Five spoons, one dish of peaches – epic!

Then we had supper. (Yes, it was indeed immediately after the tea and peaches.)

Then I went to bed. And slept. Like a log.

This morning I started to write.

I figured out that my inner editor is all too active. That I use the backspace key waaaaay too much! That I am definitely not a good typist. That we are so going to beat the Eastern Cape in our Word War! And that NaNoWriMo is awesome!

I have written 5304 words so far. The day isn’t over yet, though!

This blogpost is worth 448 words. Which can’t be counted for NaNo. Unless I want to be an epic fail cheater. Which I don’t. What I am saying, however, is: Value the sacrifice, dear reader. It’s worth 448 words!

Leave a Reply

