Bible Reading Challenge / My walk with God

I think…occasionally!

Every now and then, I read a blog post. The rest of the time I just skim read.

And every now and then, one of those blog posts knocks me off my feet.

Like this one did.

Go read it. Don’t just skim over the link.

I’ve realised that I don’t push myself beyond my limits. I don’t strive to extend my mind. I’m content with mediocrity.

Or, even worse, I don’t even realise that I am mediocre! Hey, I’m a med student. I use my brain all day, every day. I’m supposed to be clever. Why would I need to think more? I’m okay like I am, right?

Wrong.

When it comes to the things of God, I am like a little baby. I don’t read hard things, so I don’t think hard things. Wait! Scratch that. I don’t read, so I don’t think.

That’s got to change.

Hence, my reading list for 2011:

  • The Bible. Last year, I started reading through the Bible as part of a 6-month Bible reading challenge. Now, 12 months later, I’m still not finished. I’m probably only about half way. This year, I’m going to finish. Busyness is no excuse!
  • Don’t Waste Your Life – John Piper
  • Elijah – A.W. Pink
  • Knowing God – J.I. Packer
  • Love walked among us – Paul E. Miller
  • The Screwtape Letters – C.S. Lewis

Welcome to 2011. The year when I will read and I will think. Join me.

5 thoughts on “I think…occasionally!

  1. Read Mere Christianity? If not scratch Screwtape Letters and grab hold of Mere Christianity. It will stretch you powers of mental prowess. Check out what I’m saying with your elders. I’m thinking they’ll agree – Although caution: Lewis is not Reformed (nor overtly Evangelical being more Anglo-Catholic than anything else… I think… but what a mind).

    Screwtape Letters is like popcorn and coke and a teenage comedy, Mere Christianity is like Gone with the Wind or Schindler’s List. It’s a different level.

  2. I wrote this on another discussion thread this morning and thought it best to caveat my recommendation from yesterday with this warning from today:

    Hey there, Had to dig out a quote. Lewis, Mere Christianity, pp. 176-177,

    “There are people who do not accept the full Christian doctrine about Christ but who are so strongly attracted by Him that they are His in a much deeper sense than they themselves understand. There are people in other religions who are being led by God’s secret influence to concentrate on those parts of their religion which are in agreement with Christianity, and who thus belong to Christ without knowing it. For example, a Buddhist of good will may be led to concentrate more and more on the Buddhist teaching about mercy and to leave in the background (though he might still say he believed) the Buddhist teaching on certain other points. Many of the good Pagans long before Christ’s birth may have been in this position.”

    There’s more but maybe that’s enough?

    Lewis is a legend but he was certainly fallible (like Augustine and that whole allegorical nonsense 🙂 ). It’s not only on this point that I would diverge with him; his understanding of Substitutionary Atonement was wonky to say the least.

  3. I Challenge you then to read a Puritan Paperback. How about one of Thomas Watsons’ books here is a link to some free online reading.
    http://www.fivesolas.com/watson/

    If you want afun read I read The whole of “The Chronicles of Narnia” over Christmas. Brillain tsuff not like the movies at all.

  4. Hi Mark

    Nope, I haven’t read Mere Christianity yet. I was aware that some of Lewis’ ideas were a bit (as you say) wonky! In fact, I’d noticed his handling of Emeth in The Last Battle as the Tash worshipper who basically gets to go to ‘heaven’ and wondered what exactly Lewis’ beliefs were. Thanks for the quote.

    I have been wanting to read Screwtape for a while, though I do see your point about it being not quite on the same sort of level as the other books on my reading list…

    🙂

  5. Hi Simon

    Thanks for the link – I will go check it out. I hadn’t even thought of any of the Puritans!

    I love The Chronicles of Narnia! I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read them. The Last Battle never fails to make me cry. The picture of heaven is just so amazing.

    Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

