Dissection / My walk with God

Cut by a koki pen?

I managed to cut myself open today…

I haven’t a clue how I managed to do it! My scalpel was packed away. The most lethal instrument our group was handling was a koki pen! We were looking at the surface anatomy of the cadaver for goodness sake!

Some stinging Savlon and one plaster later, I went back to the lab to find that my group had drawn all over our cadaver. Seriously! We had been given a special cadaver koki pen and told to go for it! So we worked out where the incision for an appendectomy would be, we draw the 9 abdominal regions onto the skin and figured out where the internal organs would lie. It was pretty cool!

After that activity, we started to open up the abdomen. We removed the skin, looked at the fascia and cleaned the muscles. Then we cut through some of the muscles to see more muscles underneath! We found some arteries, and then we went home.

About time, too, if you ask me! It’s been a long week.

Despite the fact that today’s activities were interesting, despite the fact that the most awesome lecturer on the entire planet is covering the abdomen with us – it still felt as if Friday was the low point of the week. People were starting to get grumpy. (In the interests of keeping this an honest evaluation of the dissection block, I will admit that I was starting to get grumpy. :-o) We are all exhausted. And this is only the first week!

Only six more weeks…

I’m so tired.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Cut by a koki pen?

  1. You’re sure you didn’t cut yourself on a rib or something like that? Yes, I know, there are no ribs in the thorax but as you described dissecting the thorax earlier…

    Good luck with anatomy!

  2. Alright, it’s much too late (probably studied too much neurology) – I meant, of course there are no ribs in the abdomen 😛

  3. Lol, that’s okay – my brain feels like mush too!

    I don’t think it was a rib… It seemed like a very clean cut, I think a rib would leave a bit more of a jagged one?

    Thanks, I think I’m going to need all the luck I can get!

    Good luck with the neurology!

Leave a Reply

