Medicine / Misc

On contagious addictions and my horror upon watching Snow White for the first time!

Today was a day of extremes. I experienced the emotions of utter boredom and concentrated interest. I was late for one thing and wildly early for another. I was exhausted and yet alert.

And I felt really juvenile as well as really non-juvenile.

A friend and I were sitting in the cafeteria. We had a meeting with our supervisor for our research project. And an hour and a half to wait before the meeting would start.

My friend suggested solitaire.

My mind, of course, immediately jumped to something better – my newest addiction!

So we opened up my laptop and started to play TIM.

I did not feel very grown up or intellectual. There we were, sitting in the cafeteria, playing computer games, while all around us medical students were reading textbooks and discussing projects.

We had almost solved the puzzle. The breakthrough had come. We were about to test our theory…

And then my laptop battery died!

Typical.

Anyhow, this evening, after Girl Guides, my family and I sat down to watch Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. Yes, that’s the really old one. Where she kisses doves and other unhygienic things. (Like seven dwarves bald pates… yeough!)

This was the first time I had ever seen this particular movie.

And I was shocked.

Some of the shock was due to the dissonance of the soundtrack. Trust me, it’s enough to put anyone into shock! (That is, the medical type, you know lack of tissue perfusion and all that…)

Another part of my (non-medical, purely emotional) shock was due to the portrayal of the evil stepmother. Is this or is this not supposed to be a children’s movie? ‘Cos really, it’s enough to give me nightmares, let along a small child!

The rest of my shock, though, came at the film’s portrayal of the seventh dwarf – Dopey.

Dopey cannot speak. And he is, well… dopey! Not quite all there.

Obviously he is mentally ill.

And in many parts of the film he is portrayed as being similar to a dog. Hence my shocked face.

In all fairness, though, I am biased. Currently we are doing a research project on society’s attitude towards mental illness.So obviously when I saw Dopey, my mind immediately jumped to “stigma about mental illness!”

See, Block 2 does actually have some useful information!

4 thoughts on “On contagious addictions and my horror upon watching Snow White for the first time!

  1. “research project on society’s attitude towards mental illness” – Very interesting Project – Keep me updated. Suggestion: To really see how society act towards mental illness – You can also act as mentally ill in public and let a friend capture on Video. I am sure you will get very interesting results. Good luck.

  2. Well, you could use Dopey as a good example / introduction? 🙂

    Sometimes, children’s books can be VERY scary as well. I remember being scared to death by the audio tape of the 101 dalmatians. I didn’t know what ‘flaying’ was and my dad told me… I couldn’t sleep for several nights, afraid of Cruella de Vil 🙂

  3. Ja, I was actually considering using Dopey as a sort of introduction to the topic!

    I agree! I watched Atlantis, and I was shell-shocked afterwards! I am actually amazed by the kind of movies that parents allow their 5 and 6 year old children to watch.

Leave a Reply

