Medicine

This week I went to med school and I…

…learned the latin word for a cow!

Really truly!

“Cow” is “vacca” in latin, and because of Edward Jenner, we get the word “vaccine” from “vacca!”

Pretty cool, huh?

This week at med school, I also learnt that immunology is hard!

This is what the textbook sounds like: “These interactions then promote the binding of the Beta2-integrin, LFA-1 to ICAM-1 and ICAM-2 on the endothelium, resulting in mogration into the lymph node.”

And the pictures in another textbook aren’t much easier to understand!

Feeling confused?

Don’t worry, you’re not the only one!

2 thoughts on “This week I went to med school and I…

  1. Good luck! I looooove immunology but I agree that it takes a lot of work to understand everything, especially at the beginning when you don’t have a ‘framework’ for all the information yet. Having an awesome immunology professor helps a lot!

    Are your summer (winter?) holidays really that short? We’ve got summer holidays from 9 July to the first of September.

  2. Well, at least there’s hope on the immunology side then…

    Our holidays (yes, it is winter now in South Africa) are about three weeks, running from June to July.

    🙂

Leave a comment